North East STEM Awards 2022

15th Nov 2022

The North East STEM Awards was held on Friday at the Crowne Plaza in Newcastle. The celebration event was a prestigious ceremony held to recognise North East STEM Ambassadors and STEM organisations who, through their interaction, have inspired, engaged and enthused many young people and their teachers in STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics) over the past year.

The Street Scientists set the scene for the evening as they welcomed guests at the entrance, encapsulating and involving them in different STEM related activities. Joined on stage by local comedian Steffen Peddie, he ran the evenings proceedings whilst entertaining the crowed.

Claire Willis, STEM Business Development Manager comments:

“What a fabulous evening! We were delighted to host the 2022 North East STEM awards, a regional showcase of the amazing commitment of our STEM Ambassadors, Teachers and Companies. After a successful virtual event it was fantastic to see everyone come together in person to celebrate.

“The evening recognised the initiatives which make a real difference for STEM subjects within our regional young people. We were proud to present all the awards to individuals and companies who have shown dedication to inspire.”


The ceremony configured around the award categories, the categories and 17 winners follow:

Highest number of hours from an individual STEM Ambassador – Paula McMahon

Highest number of active STEM Ambassadors from a large North East company – Nissan

Most inspirational North East Science Employer – Glaxo Smithkline

Most inspirational North East Technology employer – AECOM

Most inspirational North East Engineering employer – Balfour Beatty

Most inspirational North East Maths employer – Virgin Money (second year running)

Most inspirational Primary School Teacher – Dan Burfield from Wardley Primary School

Most inspirational Secondary School Teacher – Mike Fairbairn from Egglescliffe School and Sixth Form College

Most inspirational North East STEM employer – Unipres

Special Recognition Awards, given to individual STEM Ambassadors who have demonstrated exceptional dedication and commitment to young people:

Vicky Fawcett

Isabel Patterson, Fujifilm Diosynth Biotechnologies

Nicky Waller

Lorraine Coghill, Durham University

Amit Kumar, Cummins

Karen Milek, Durham University


Dawn Ross, RTC North


The celebration was organised by the North East STEM Hub, delivered by RTC. The STEM Hub runs the North East STEM Ambassador Hub which covers Northumberland, Tyne and Wear, County Durham and Tees Valley. The team with a network of over a thousand dedicated and inspiring volunteers in the North East help to facilitate STEM Ambassadors, volunteering their time to support and inspire young learners and promote STEM subjects, encouraging the next generation to lead innovation to sustain our future.

Return to list